Shropshire Local Mobile Service moves to libraries for winter

06/10/2022 – Permalink Related topics: Business / Leisure, culture and heritage

Shropshire Council’s local mobile service in Shropshire moved into county libraries this week.

Shropshire Local aims to help people living in more rural areas, where access to certain services and council support may be more difficult for some people.

The service will operate on the following dates between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. in the following libraries. There will also be an additional service at the Mayfair Community Center in Church Stretton on Thursday, December 15, 2022.

Friday, October 7, 2022 – Shifnal Library

Wednesday 12 October – Bridgnorth Library

Thursday, October 13 – Wem Library

Monday, October 17 – Market Drayton Library

Thursday, October 20 – Highley Library

Monday, October 24 – Broseley Library

Tuesday, October 25 – Whitchurch Library

Wednesday November 2 – Oswestry Library

Thursday November 3 – Albrighton Library

Thursday, November 10 – Church Stretton Library

Friday 11 November – Bridgnorth Library

Wednesday November 16 – Market Drayton Library

Thursday, November 17 – Cleobury Mortimer Library

Thursday, November 24 – Whitchurch Library

Wednesday, November 30 – Oswestry Library

Friday, December 2 – Shifnal Library

Wednesday 7 December – Bridgnorth Library

Thursday, December 8 – Wem Library

Wednesday, December 14 – Market Drayton Library

Thursday, December 15 – Church Stretton: Mayfair Community Center

Shropshire local get-togethers at libraries this winter – poster

In addition to these locations, there are also local Shropshire hubs at Ludlow Library and The Darwin Centre, Shrewsbury, which are open 9.30am to 5pm Monday to Friday in Shrewsbury; and Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Fridays at Ludlow.

A customer review:-

“I saw the Shropshire local in Ellesmere today. I inquired about a bus pass because my previous one was with Mersey Travel and long expired. It took two minutes for the request to be completed. Many thanks to everyone involved, especially the two smiling and helpful people in the minibus who completed the application. »

Friendly and experienced members of the team will be present in each library to offer a listening ear, advice and information to residents. Staff will talk to people about how people can access council services and services from other organisations, and can also offer advice on how to access these services online.

Since the establishment of the Shropshire Local, it has received and dealt with nearly 750 inquiries from residents across the county.

Cecilia Motley, Cabinet Member for Health (Integrated Care System) and Communities, said:-

“Our Shropshire Local Mobile service has been very well received by local communities, many of whom live in remote and rural parts of the county and who may struggle to connect to municipal services.

“Over the past year, the team has been on the road, putting the council back in the community. In an effort to make the council more accessible and easier for people in remote communities to learn about local support services, the team was available in all weathers to offer a listening ear and information to residents. They offer advice on how best to access services and show how it can be done online.

“The team met and helped hundreds of residents with their requests. We also heard many examples from across the county of how the Customer Service team has helped residents and facilitated meaningful, life-changing conversations.

“If you, or someone you know, would benefit from seeing one of our local Shropshire advisers, please visit one of the libraries detailed on the list of locations. Our friendly advisors will be more than happy to help you.

You can find out more about Shropshire Local here: Shropshire Local Mobile | Shropshire Council

Comments are closed.